CFN Member of the Month

clean/thruster/muscle-up WOD

Heather Donnelly

Since starting CrossFit a year ago Heather has become quite the athlete. In the past few months her strength has skyrocketed.  Heather brings a great energy to CFN. Always giving 110% to each WOD and having a great attitude all the time. She will never back down from a challenge and is always supportive of her fellow CFN athletes.

Here are a few of her stats:

B/W 125 LB

135Lb C&J

185Lb Front Squat

200 Lb Back squat

295 DL

Here’s a little bit about Heather:

1. Why did you start Crossfit?

I had gained an uncomfortable amount of weight after returning from Australia in 2010. After I moved to Boston, I was pretty desperate to do something about it. I’d heard about CrossFit from my brother, so I joined up, and here I am a year later.

2. Why do you love CrossFit?

CrossFit has showed me how to be more than I’d ever allowed myself to be. I’ve always been a very reserved person, and CrossFit is bringing me out of that shell and showing me how to push myself to limits I’ve never known.

3. Favorite Movement?

Handstand pushups. Deadlifts are a close second.

4. Least Favorite Movement?

A toss up between thrusters and ring dips. Yuck.

5. What are you most proud of?

The strength I’ve gained in such a short amount of time. Being small has such disadvantages, and I like to think I’ve gotten to be incredibly strong given my size.

6. Are you Paleo, Zone or Something else?

I eat as Paleo as possible. I don’t weigh or measure my food, but for the most part I eat quality products. I’m not super strict, though, because let’s face it – we all have our guilty pleasures. J

7. How many times a week do you WOD?

5 times a week minimum. If I’m preparing for a competition, I’ll come in 6 days a week and use the extra day solely for skill practice.

8. Interesting fact about yourself?

Most folks know about my geek tendencies, but what you may not know is that I can also knit, crochet, and sew. I’ve also been learning to play violin for the past 3 years.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “CFN Member of the Month”

  1. Heather Donnelly Says:

    My bodyweight is actually 125 now. I checked today after a few months of not being anywhere near a scale. 😉

    Reply

  2. Amy Says:

    Heather, I would just like to say that YOU ROCK!!!! 😀

    Reply

    • Shu-Yee Says:

      second that!! You have the most amazing attitude and you are always super super excited about each WOD, what an inspiring year you have had!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

