Monday 9.26.11

            Thank’s to Jodie, Fred, Staci, and Jay W for representing CrossFit Newton this weekend at the Garage Games. You guys did an amazing job. Another thanks to Everyone who came out to support our athletes. I would have posted scores, but they are not posted yet. I will as soon as they are.

            We have a lot of events coming up. Barbells for Boobs this Saturday, Garage Games at CrossFit Southie in November, The in house throwdown on October 29th, and the CFN  Team throwdown in on January 29th. We’ve got a lot of exciting events for you all to participate in, so I hope you at least sign up for one of them or come and cheer your fellow athletes on.  If you have any questions just ask Gil.

Jodie during the “Lark”

Fred during the “Chipper” 

Staci during the “Row/Double under” 

Jay W during the “Chippper” 

1. Warm-up WOD

3 sets of max pull-ups run 200 meters

rest 2 min between sets

2. “Garage Games Chipper”

20 toes through rings

30 thrusters (95/65)

40 burpees on to a plate

50 box jumps 24/20

There’s one modification to this WOD. Instead of burpees to target, I subbed burpees onto a plate.

Weight, box jump, and toes through rings will be modified if needed

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

14 Comments on “Monday 9.26.11”

  1. Fred Says:

    Fantastic time and congrats to Jodie, Staci and Jay….Thank you to everyone who came out and supported us!!

    Gil and Jodie: Thanks for getting me to a point where I can actually compete in these events. It would not be possible without your coaching.

    Reply

    • Gilaad cohen Says:

      Fred you were insane today. Sometimes I am surprised by how mentally tough you are.

      Reply

  2. Jodie Says:

    Fred, you were no JOKE this weekend!!!

    I wanted to give a big shout out to CFN athletes Ryan Cormier and Dan Benson for judging this weekend. Ryan, you were RUTHLESS with me on the chipper, but I was able to go unbroken for 20 foot to rings, 40 burpees, and 54 BOX JUMPS (thanks for the no reps!!!!!) due to your relentless, nagging, and INCREDIBLE encouragement, coaching and judging. Only a CFN athlete could have coached me that way and get a HUG afterwards for it as it FORCED me to finish under the time cap on the last wod!!!!! You’re the best man!

    Additionally, I wanted to thank Tiffany B. for watching the prowler pushing with me for over an hour and discussing the absolute BEST physics to overcome the frictional forces that the concrete was making on the prowler to prevent the prowler from floating up the hill for most girls. By the time I got up there I felt like I had all of Einstein’s knowledge in my brain and used every ounce of it to CRUSH THAT WOD and place 6th overall (out of 37 girls) in that wod!!!! (Shu Yee, you would’ve loved that conversation!!!!)

    I have to acknowledge resident chiropractor, Dr. Josh Gale, for beating the CRAP out of my feet, ankles, soleus, TFL and upper thoracic and making it finally possible for me to do an overhead squat at full depth in the triple digits!!!!!

    Of course, I must thank Gil, who puts up with all my whining, crying, complaining, and on a rare occasion, bitchiness (when a wod doesn’t go exactly my way) yet still seems to prepare me perfectly for any crossfit event I throw myself into. I am FUELED UP for sectionals this year.

    And, lastly, I’m not sure if all of you know this, but a childhood friend just started another round of chemo treatment on brain cancer that he has been battling for a few years. I told him when i registered for this event that I was dedicating the garage games to him…that this weekend, we would fight together. Last night, I sent him an update after day one. During the first wod, round one, I had a moment when I didn’t think I was going to make it thru. This was his response when I told him (and he has never done crossfit):

    “Wow, that all sounds so intense. i congratulate you on forging on when you thought of stopping after the first round. That’s what separates the great from the average, we never give up. I thank you for choosing me as your inspiration, glad I could help you through that moment. I wish you the best of luck and strength in tomorrows events, I will be thinking of you and sending positive energy. Remember, anyone can always do one more of anything!

    Please keep me posted, and good luck.

    Stay Strong!!!”

    Today during the burpees, I thought of this statement….Anyone can always do one more of anything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sorry this is so long….it was an emotional weekend!

    Reply

  3. Ryan Cormier Says:

    i misss being there….my voice is shot from yelling at jodie….i thought she was gonna
    “accidentally” me on the way up on the burpees lol. cant wait to see you guys at milfordd. you got to let us know if we should enter scaled or rx’d

    Reply

  4. Michele Says:

    warm-up: 13, 14, 11 (pull-ups)
    wod: 8:45 rx

    Reply

  5. Ryan Cormier Says:

    warm up, 22, 27, 24

    Wod… 15:49… the toes over bar was so hard because they were angled handles and in a pulley so i couldnt do kipping ones…thrusters i hate…burpees. i hate boxjumps just sucked cause my legs were shot…i have absolutely no winddddd

    Reply

  6. Cristina Says:

    Congrats to all the competitors! Sounds like you really went after it!

    Looking forward to Barbells for Boobs this Saturday — might try rx

    Reply

  7. Staci Says:

    today = off, no way i’m doing that one again anytime soon 🙂 buuuuut I wanted to say thanks so much to everyone who came out this weekend!!! 🙂 Awesome time and huge learning experience.

    Can’t wait for ALL OF YOU to participate in the next one with us. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Nick C Says:

    Warm up- 23, 20, 18
    WOD- 8:35

    Reply

  9. Asian Jay Says:

    11:42 with 40lb for thrusters….not fun

    Reply

  10. Asian Jay Says:

    whoops meant 40lb DBs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

